Shelby County Science Day 2024

2024 Shelby County Science Day Results


9th Annual Shelby County Science Day Held

On Thursday, February 01, 2024, the Shelby County Science Day was held at Anna
Local High School for Shelby County students, grades 5-12. Students from Anna HS and
Jackson Center MS completed science research projects and presented their findings to area
professionals, researchers, and educators.
This event offered students a venue that promotes the development of creative thinking,
research and writing skills and career motivation toward the sciences, all in one program. Project
topics may be in biology, chemistry, botany, space & earth sciences, computers, zoology,
microbiology, biochemistry, physics, engineering, mathematics, medicine & health and
behavioral & social science. Twelve students received the highest rating of “Superior”, from
Jackson Center Elementary - Alex Prenger & Bryson Scott; Laya Roberts & Kierston Roberts
from Anna Local High School - Violet Aiken, Marlie Barhorst, Audrey Flaute, Mallory Havenar,
Seth Hegemier, Corrina Holtzapple, Donald Simpson and Jenna Wolters. These students are
eligible to compete at the Upper Miami Valley District Science Day held at Edison State
Community College on March 9 th .
Event sponsors donated awards and gift certificates in an amount totaling $1500.
Sponsors included Airstream, Cargill, Wells Brothers, McMurry Family and Anna Local High
School. Area professionals and community members volunteered to judge the projects, aided by
area science teachers.
Anna High School student, Jenna Wolters was awarded the AIRSTREAM Grand Prize of
$200. Donald Simpson was 2 nd and Laya & Kierston Roberts were 3 rd overall with each project
awarded $100, also from AIRSTREAM. The AIRSTREAM Topic Category Awards
included: in Behavioral Science, 1st Place $100 Corrina Holtzapple, 2nd Place $50
Audrey Flaute; in Medicine & Health / Microbiology 1st Place $100 Jenna Wolters, 2nd
Place $50 Donald Simpson, 3rd Place $50 Laya & Kierston Roberts; in
Physics/Engineering/Math 1st Place $100 Seth Hegemier, 2nd Place $50 Derek Madden,
3rd Place $50 Adan Baldonado; in Chemistry/ Material Science 1st Place $100, Mason
Hughes, 2nd Place $50 Tony Gehret. The Cargill Award for Best Presentation of Data
$100 went to Jenna Wolters. The Cargill Award for Best Abstract $100 went to Laya &
Kierston Roberts. McMurry Family $100 “Spirit of Science Award” went to Tony
The students, their teachers, and Anna Local High School, all wish to thank the sponsors
and volunteers for making the 2024 Shelby County Science Day a successful event. Anyone with
questions about the science fair program should contact Dr. Martin E. English, 790 E. Shoop Rd.,
Tipp City, OH 45371, or email: .